Thematic Minors

Thematic Minors are interdisciplinary minors consist of five related humanities and social sciences courses that address a common theme. The list of courses in each of the thematic minors, as well as other information about them, is available from the chair of the Department of Humanities & Social Sciences.

Disciplinary Minors

Disciplinary Minors consist of five courses in one of the disciplinary areas in the Department of Humanities & Social Sciences, such as anthropology, history, sociology, literature, philosophy and political science. 

  • Philosophy
  • Political Science
  • Sociology

Student-Designed Minors

Student-designed minors allow our students to propose a minor through the office of the Department of Humanities and Social Sciences to a  faculty committee for approval. The proposal lists the courses that the student will take for their minor and articulates the coherence among these courses. Students are encouraged to design their minor in collaboration with a faculty advisor within the department.