Guidelines for Entering into Formal International Partnerships

One of the major pillars of the University Strategic Plan is World Reach & Diversity.  World reach through our international partnerships with institutions abroad is an excellent way to expand our global reach and reputation.  President Collins has asked us to deepen and strengthen our international partnerships, and to add new partners when it is of strategic importance to the University.

Following are the guidelines for entering into new formal international partnerships:

  • The university should be ranked competitively in world rankings, or within its country’s rankings.
  • The university should be interested in a multi-faceted partnership, i.e., student exchange at the undergraduate and graduate level for course credit or research; joint projects and/or joint research; sabbatical leave opportunities; short-term faculty visits; possible joint degree programs; and other appropriate activities.
  • Whenever possible, they should be accredited by the appropriate accrediting organization, i.e., ABET, AACSB, EQUIS, or similar in their region of the world. If they are in the process of applying for accreditation and are well into the final stages, we will consider the university as a potential partner.
  • Is there a Clarkson faculty member(s) who will be the primary liaison with this university?  In order for there to a strong partnership, a faculty relationship is very helpful.  This does not necessitate on-site visits. At the very least, the faculty member needs to have knowledge of the partner university’s curriculum and have a relationship with one or more faculty at the proposed partner university.
  • University-wide partnerships are preferred vs. school-to-school or department-to-department as the latter limit the level of interaction for cross-disciplinary collaboration, as well as available courses for our students. However, there are times when a school-to-school partnership can be the precursor to a university-wide partnership, so those opportunities may be explored.

NOTE: All international partnership MOU's and Agreements are approved by the office of the Associate Vice President for Student Affairs & International Relations. Questions regarding the initiation and formation of international partnership agreements should be addressed to Associate Vice President Taylor.

Please complete the Questionnaire for Potential International Partnership Agreements and submit to:

Jeff Taylor
Associate Vice President for Student Affairs and International Relations
Box 5651

Partner List

Griffith University, Gold Coast
Monash University, Melbourne
University of Newcastle, Newcastle
University of Technology Sydney (UTS), Sydney
RMIT University, Melbourne
Queensland University of Technology(QUT), Brisbane
Western Sydney University, Rydalmere

Upper Austria University of Applied Sciences, Steyr and Wels

Laval University, Quebec City

ESSCA School of Management, Shanghai
Ocean University of China, Qingdao**
Shanghai University of Electric Power, Shanghai**
Tsinghua University School of Materials Science and Engineering, Beijing**

University of Rijeka, Rijeka

Technical University of Denmark (DTU), Lyngby

Northumbria University, Newcastle-Upon-Tyne
University of Brighton, Brighton
University of Essex, Colchester
University of Leicester, Leicester

IÉSEG School of Management, Lille or Paris
KEDGE Business School, Bordeaux or Marseille
EM Strasbourg Business School, Strasbourg
ESSCA School of Management, Angers or Paris
Grenoble Ecole de Management, Grenoble
Université Catholique de Lyon ESDES, Lyon
Université de Technologie de Troyes, Troyes

Konstanz University of Applied Sciences, Konstanz
Universitat Potsdam, Potsdam
SRH Heidelberg, Heidelberg

Hong Kong
City University of Hong Kong, Kowloon

ESSCA School of Management, Budapest

Indian Institute of Technology Madras (IITM), Chennai**

National University of Ireland, Galway

University of Bologna, Bologna**
Sant'Anna Institute, Sorrento*
Politecnico di Torino, Turin**
Sapienza University, Rome**

Kyushu Institute of Technology, Fukuoka**   

University of Monterrey, Monterrey
Tecnologico de Monterrey, Mexico City

Delft University of Technology, Delft

New Zealand
AUT University, Auckland

Alexandru Ioan Cuza University, Iasi

Heriot-Watt University, Edinburgh
University of Strathclyde, Glasgow

Nanyang Technical University, Singapore
National University of Singapore, Singapore

South Africa
CIEE - Cape Town Program, Cape Town*

South Korea
Sungkyunkwan University (SKKU), Seoul

Comillas Pontifical University, Madrid

Jönkoping University, Jönkoping
Luleå University of Technology, Luleå

National Taiwan Ocean University, Taiwan

University of Montevideo, Montevideo

RMIT University, Ho Chi Minh City

*Study only
**Research only