Background Image

Campus Sustainability Leadership

In this Section

Campus sustainability cuts across all of Clarkson's operational units and student life. The Institute for a Sustainable Environment is responsible for coordinating and overseeing our sustainability efforts, but the actual implementation of projects requires significant input from facilities, information technology, dining services, and other offices on campus.

Susan E. Powers, PhD, PE, a professor or Civil and Environmental Engineering and the Jean '79 and Robert '79 Spence Professor of Sustainable Environmental Systems is the current Associate Director for Sustainability. She works closely with a team of colleagues and students to support, plan and implement Clarkson's sustainability initiatives. 

Current Campus Sustainability Committee members include:

Allison S. Aldrich, Budgets & Finance
Erica A. Arnold, HR / Env. Safety
John Ashworth-King, OIT
Courtney A. Evans, ARAMARK
Erin Corrigan, ECO
Brittany Desiato, Synergy
Wendy A. Kane, Student affairs
Rachael Matejcik, OPAR
Colin O'Brien, NYWEA
Susan Powers, ISE (chair)
Shannon Robinson, Facilities
Alan Rossner, ISE / faculty
Janessa A. Scott, Marketing & External Relations
Michelle L. Young, Library

Clarkson is an institutional member of AASHE and the USGBC.