Background Image

Civil & Environmental Engineering - Faculty Success

In this Section

Our faculty members are widely known for their research and professional service. Many have received prestigious national awards, are currently editors or associate editors of archival journals, or have hosted international meetings on the Clarkson campus. Some highlights include:

Awards

  • Sulapha Peethamparan, 2011 NSF CAREER Award
  • Poojitha Yapa, 2010 United States Geological Services Director's award
  • Andrea Ferro, 2009 NSF Career Award
  • Hung Tao Shen, 2008 IAHR Ice Research Engineering Award; 2007 ASCE Hunter Rouse Hydraulic Engineering Award and Lecture; 2001 Larry Gerard Medal, Canadian Geophysical Union – Hydrology Section; 2000 ASCE CAN-AM Civil Engineering Amity Award; and, the 2000 ASCE Harold R. Peyton Award for Cold Regions Engineering
  • Susan Powers, 2004 NSF Directors Award – Distinguished Teaching Scholar
  • Levon Minnetyan, NASA Innovation Awards 2000 and 2001
  • John Dempsey, 1993 ASCE Walter L. Huber Civil Engineering Research Prize
  • Hayley Shen, 1991 ASCE Walter L. Huber Civil Engineering Research Prize
Ackerman

Norbert L. Ackermann
Professor Emeritus
Water Resources Engineering
nackermann@twcny.rr.com

Batson

Gordon B. Batson
Professor Emeritus
Structural and Material Engineering
Snell Hall
Phone: 315-268-6520
gordon@clarkson.edu

Chris Bellona

Christopher Bellona
Assistant Professor
Environmental Engineer
208 Rowley Laboratories
Phone: 315-268-3844
cbellona@clarkson.edu

Bonner James S. Bonner
Professor
Environmental Engineering
102 Snell Hall (Downtown)
Phone: 315-261-2166
jbonner@clarkson.edu
Dempsey

John P. Dempsey
Professor
Structural and Material Engineering
240B Rowley Laboratories
Phone: 315-268-6517
john@clarkson.edu

Ferro Andrea Ferro
Professor
Environmental Engineering
206 Rowley Laboratories
Phone: 315-268-7649
aferro@clarkson.edu
Grimberg Stefan J. Grimberg
Professor & Chair
Environmental Engineering
140B Rowley Laboratories
Phone: 315-268-6490
grimberg@clarkson.edu
Holson

Thomas M. Holsen
Professor
Environmental Engineering
204 Rowley Laboratories
Phone: 315-268-3851
holsen@clarkson.edu

Janoyan Kerop D. Janoyan
Assoc. Professor & Executive Officer
Geotechnical Engineering
140A Rowley Laboratories
Phone: 315-268-6506
kerop@clarkson.edu
ianknack

Ian M. Knack
Assistant Professor
Water Resources Engineering
102 Rowley Laboratories
Phone: 315-268-4446
iknack@clarkson.edu

Lin Feng-Bor Lin
Professor
Transportation Engineering
228 Rowley Laboratories
Phone: 315-268-6546
mailto:iu00@clarkson.edu
Minnetyan

Levon Minnetyan
Professor
Structrual and Material Engineering
226 Rowley Laboratories
Phone: 315-268-7741
levon@clarkson.edu

narunakata

Narutoshi Nakata
Associate Professor
Structural and Material Engineering
106 Rowley Laboratories
Phone:  315-268-5502
nnakata@clarkson.edu

peethamparan

Sulapha Peethamparan
Associate Professor
Structural and Material Engineering
236 Rowley Laboratories
Phone: 315-268-4435
speetham@clarkson.edu

Powers

Susan E. Powers
Professor and Assoc. Dir. ISE
Environmental Engineering
123 Technology Advancement Center
Phone: 315-268-6542
sep@clarkson.edu

Shane Rogers

Shane Rogers
Associate Professor
Environmental Engineering
212 Rowley Laboratories
Phone: 315-268-6501
srogers@clarkson.edu

H.H. Shen

Hayley H. Shen
Professor
Water Resources Engineering
132 Rowley Laboratories
Phone: 315-268-6614
hhshen@clarkson.edu

HTS

Hung Tao Shen
Professor
Water Resources Engineering
232 Rowley Laboratories
Phone: 315-268-6606
htshen@clarkson.edu

tyler smith

Tyler Smith
Assistant Professor
230 Rowley Lab
Phone: 315-268-2243
tsmith@clarkson.edu

spencerthew

Spencer Thew
Adjunct Associate Professor
Construction Engineering
136 Rowley Laboratories
Phone: 315-268-6507
sthew@clarkson.edu

khiemtran

Khiem Tran
Assistant Professor
234 Rowley Laboratories
Phone: 315-268-2341
ktran@clarkson.edu

stevenwojtkiewicz

Steven F. Wojtkiewicz
Associate Professor
Structural Engineering
126 Rowley Laboratories
Phone: 315-268-1261
swojtkie@clarkson.edu

weimingwu

Weiming Wu
Professor
Water Resources Engineering
128 Rowley Laboratories
Phone: 315-268-6550
wwu@clarkson.edu

poojithayapa Poojitha D. Yapa
Professor
Water Resources Engineering
130 Rowley Laboratories
Phone: 315-268-7980
pdy@clarkson.edu