Background Image

CAMP December Newsletter: Page 2

In this Section

Clarkson University's Professor Marzocca Named AIAA Associate Fellow

Clarkson Professor Pier Marzocca has been named an Associate Fellow of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA), the world's largest society dedicated to the global aerospace profession. Associate fellows have accomplished or led important engineering or scientific work, or have otherwise made outstanding contributions to the arts, sciences, or technology of aeronautics or astronautics, according to the AIAA. Associate fellow inductees must have at least 12 years of professional experience and be recommended by a minimum of three associate fellows. Marzocca is one of the new associate fellows honored in January at the 51st AIAA Aerospace Sciences Meeting in Texas.

Marzocca is a professor in the Department of Mechanical and Aeronautical Engineering at Clarkson University. He received his Ph.D. in aeronautical and aerospace engineering from Politecnico di Torino in Italy. Professor Marzocca is a deputy editor- in- chief of the International Journal of Aeronautical and Space Sciences, and associate editor for the Journal of Thermal Stresses and for the Journal of Aerospace Engineering.  His research interests are in the fields of aerospace science and wind energy. He specializes in multi-physics modeling and the characterization of advanced materials and structures, dealing with the interactions among advanced structures and fluids, magnetic, electric, and thermal fields.

Representative of Pall Corporation Visits CAMP


From left:  Professor Shane Rogers (of the Civil & Environmental Engineering Department), Vice Provost of Research, Professor and Chair William Jemison (of the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department), Professor and Chair Stefan Grimberg (of the Civil & Environmental Engineering Department), Senior Director Mark Hurwitz (of Technology, Filtration, Separations Science for Pall Corporation), Director of Research & Technology Transfer Dr. Gregory Slack, Professor and Chair John McLaughlin (of the Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering Department), Professor Suresh Dhaniyala (of the Mechanical & Aeronautical Engineering Department), Bayard D. Clarkson Distinguished Professor and Director of ISE / CARES Philip Hopke, Professor Ruth Baltus (of the Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering Department), Professor Christopher Bellona (of the Civil & Environmental Engineering Department), and Distinguished University Professor and CAMP Director S.V. Babu.    

Next Page

Professor S.V. Babu 

Continued from page 1

Professor Babu is an expert in the field of Chemical Mechanical Planarization (polishing). He supervised 38 Ph.D. and 36 M.S. students and is a co-author of over 230 professional publications. He co-organized many symposia and served as a Keynote Speaker numerous times. Among others, he is a recipient of the 2004 IBM Faculty Award and was honored in 2010 with a Visiting Professorship for Senior International Scientists by the Chinese Academy of Sciences, Shanghai. In addition, the World Education Congress held in Mumbai recently honored him with an Education Leadership Award for his outstanding leadership and contributions to the field of education.


PallPall Corporation joins CAMP as a new Corporate Member.