Chemical-Mechanical Planarization

Professor S.V. Babu’s research group is continuing its fundamental investigations of various aspects of chemical-mechanical planarization (CMP) of metal and dielectric films focused on developing slurry formulations that are more active chemically for low pressure planarization of Cu, while ensuring appropriate selectivity with respect to the underlying barrier and low-k dielectric films.  While hydrogen peroxide is likely to remain the primary oxidizer in such slurries due to its multiple advantages, several compositions involving glycine or carboxylic acids (oxalic, acetic, citric, malonic, succinic, glutaric, etc.) and, in some cases, their mixtures as complexing/chelating agents appear to be very interesting. Also, investigations of controlled selectivities in material removal when oxide, nitride and/or poly-Si films are being polished have led to several candidate slurries for which disclosures have been filed. Defect mitigation while using abrasive slurries and investigation of ECMP also remain of great interest.

Also, several anionic/cationic surfactants that can suppress the dissolution rate to < 1 nm/min at 40 degrees C and help to achieve high planarization efficiencies for Cu CMP have been identified. In some cases, a small amount of BTA significantly enhanced this protective ability by forming a very compact passive film on the Cu surface, while in others, there is no need for BTA. In the absence of BTA, these reagents also help to minimize defects and facilitate post-CMP cleaning.

The Army Research Office (ARO) awarded a $955K continuation contract for research and development of 300 mm wafer planarization technologies with application to smart responsive nanocomposite structures.  This work will be carried out by Babu jointly with Professor Li and other CAMP colleagues. The Clarkson team will use most of the funds to purchase some metrology and process equipment that can handle 300 mm wafers, significantly extending CAMP’s current capabilities. 

The equipment to be acquired will consist of a post-CMP wafer scrubber (OnTrak Double Sided Scrubber – DSS-200), a long range atomic force profilometer from Park Systems, Inc. to measure nanolevel changes on the wafer surface in both vertical and horizontal dimensions over a “long” horizontal scale, a metal film thickness measurement tool (CDE ResMap 273) for electrically conductive materials and another for non-conducting materials (SCI - FilmTek 2000), with pattern recognition capability.

In addition, a state-of-the-art double platen wafer polisher system (G&P Poli-500) for 100 to 200 mm wafer polishing, including a friction and temperature monitoring system as well as an in situ swing arm type conditioner will also be installed. This polisher and the other systems will complement two Strasbaugh nHance 6EG 300 mm capable CMP polishers, a dual mode eCP-4i polisher with an attached eCMP module from CETR and an older IPEC 372 as well as several metrology tools that are already available at CAMP. Some of the new systems will be installed in CAMP’s class 10 clean room.


Go to Page




From left: Clarkson University Provost Thomas Young, Keynote Speaker Dr. Vladimir Gartstein (Research Fellow, Global Biotech & Chemical Technology Division, The Procter & Gamble Company), Keynote Speaker Dr. Steven C. Freilich (Director, Materials Sciences and Engineering, DuPont CR & D), and Distinguished University Professor / CAMP Director S.V. Babu.

CAMP Annual Technical Meeting

CAMP's Annual Technical Meeting was held May 16 - 18, 2007 at the Canandaigua Inn on the Lake in Canandaigua, New York. The very successful meeting had over 100 attendees including representatives of Industry, University, and New York State Economic Development Organizations.

A reception was again hosted by Ferro Electronic Material Systems (a Corporate Sponsor of CAMP).

The keynote speakers were Dr. Steven C. Freilich ( Director, Materials Sciences and Engineering, DuPont CR & D) and Dr. Vladimir Gartstein (Research Fellow, Global Biotech & Chemical Technology Division, The Procter & Gamble Company). Dr. Freilich’s keynote address was entitled “Innovation in the New Millennium: A DuPont Perspective.” The title of the keynote address presented by Dr. Gartstein was “Innovation at P&G.”

This year's meeting had a record number of poster presentations on CAMP research. They were judged in three categories: most attractive, most creative, and best overall. Certificates were presented by CAMP's Dr. Dana Barry to the first, second, and third place winners of each category. The judges were Brian Santora (Ferro), Gregory Berube (NanoDynamics), Dr. Yi Yang (Ferro), and Dr. John Lorenc (SI Group). The winners are listed below.

Best Overall Poster

First Place: “Using Laser Ablation to Facilitate Aggregate Breakdown and Metastability in Carbon Black Suspensions” Authors are Professor Partch, David Eno, and Deborah Shipp

Second Place: “Synthesis of Spherical and Plate-Like Gold Particles” Authors are Professor Goia, Ionel Halaciuga, and Benjamin Morrow

Third Place: “Single-Phase Rimming Flow of Liquid in a Rotating Horizontal Cylinder” Authors are Professor Jachuck and Suppiah Singaram Saravanan

Most Attractive Poster

First Place: “Freeze Drying of Aluminum Nanoflakes as a Means of Increasing Their Infrared Obscuration Properties” Authors are Professors Partch and Rasmussen, Justen Schaefer, and Nick Downey

Second Place: “Numerical Modeling of Composites with Randomly Oriented Nanostructured Fibers” Authors are Professors Ahmadi, Sokolov, and Cetinkaya, Ali Alavinasab, and Ratan Jha

Third Place: “Reverse Selectivity STI CMP Slurries” Authors are Professor Babu, Anita Natarajan, and Dandu Veera P.R.

Most Creative Poster
First Place: “Acoustic-Enhanced Nanotransfer Printing” Authors are Professors Hua and Cetinkaya, Justin Ricci, Ilgaz Akseli and Qiaohui Zhang

Second Place: “Carrier Particles for Carbon Nanotubes as a Means of Infrared Obscuration”Authors are Professor Partch, Nathan Victor, and Matthew Kelly

Third Place: “Novel Polymer Materials and Nanocomposites using Reversible Addition – Fragmentation Chain Transfer Polymerization” Authors are Professor Shipp and Pavan Kumar C.S.


From left: CAMP Deputy Director Jack Prendergast, Director of Programs at NYSTAR Kathleen Wise, Clarkson University President Anthony Collins, Keynote Speaker Dr. Vladimir Gartstein (Research Fellow, Global Biotech and Chemical Technology Division, The Procter & Gamble Company), and Distinguished University Professor/CAMP Director S.V. Babu.